The future of journalism

November 27, 2006

Hyperlocality, entrepreneurship and how journalists are educated

digital man

The question that has made more of a claim on my head and heart during the past month or so than any other: How do we prepare our journalism students for an entire career, not merely for the job market when they enter it?

This question has to do with a timeline of something like 2010 to2040, not one that looks only at, for example, May 2007, when another crop of freshly minted grads flow into the job force. What should we be doing to ready them for their careers?

As I look back on my undergraduate experence at UNC, certainly the grounding in the basics of journalism, newswriting, writing in general, editing, and a care of and for the language communicated by dedicated educators like Jim Shumaker, Val Lauder, Harry Amana, Margaret Blanchard and Don Shaw — these are the things that are still with me.

But as I consider the rafts of small media startups, as I think about microcontent, narrowcasting, the explosion of blogs, the de-massifying of audiences, of Chris Anderson’s The Long Tail, I cannot help but think that this generation’s grads need a better grounding in entrepreneurship. Blasphemy? Hear me out.

The days of slogging away in the salt mines of one company for an entire career are so gone. I have several students from last May who since have launched their own companies, including two video production companies and a Web-based graphics design house. How to run a business, how to get financial backing, marketing and management — these are new skill sets our communication majors need, and they could serve them for their whole careers. What do you think?

15 Responses to “The future of journalism”

  1. Tracy Says:

    I agree with you. I plan to work for awhile after I graduate, however I would like to start a family eventually, and stay at home while I do that. These days, most people would probably think I’m crazy for that because times have changed so much. However, during that time I could want to start a business and run it from home. In order to start a business it would be important to get that education now. Also, having a basic knowledge of how to run a business is something I think everybody should know. You never know what is going to come your way.

  2. Jeff Hawkins Says:

    I agree. As Dr. Carroll alluded, I, too, feel the “days of slogging away” with a single “company for an entire career” have long since passed. Thus, in order to emerge successful from the highly competitive “zoo” the modern workforce has so shrewdly become, journalism graduates must not only display a gifted pen and skillful eye, but must also demonstrate (at least) a basic understanding of entrepreneurial business. But I would venture to say (and this could easily be my PR biases objecting subliminally from within), adequate “people” skills are yet another requirement for today’s journalist. Just as the days of monogonous company-employee relations have passed, so have the days in which journalists can slave eternally over an isolated desk, for, unfortateunately, one can rarely truly advance (and therefore succeed) anymore with one’s career if one does not first build connections, network, and, ultimately, exhibit a positive public image. The work force is inevitably evolving into an office of universally skilled trend-setters, and the question remains, are we equipped to join it?

  3. Jess McNeil Says:

    To go along with what Jeff and Tracy said, I definitely agree that journalists should have a grasp on some sort of entrepreneurship. Honestly, every field of study should. As one can easily see, the times are changing, and they are changing quickly. With a firm grasp on how to properly maintain one’s own company, it would seem to be much easier to progress in the working world, should an opportunity arise. I would think that in journalism, it’s difficult to make a name for oneself unless he/she does something extraordinary. With entrepreneurial skills, it would seem to be much easier to get ahead. Also, if the job isn’t going so well for someone in the journalism field, they could take their knowledge of business skills and carry them with them to their next job, whether it be working for a new boss or for themselves.

  4. Laura Tucker Says:

    I agree that learning the business side of things is much more important now a days, whether you start your own business or not. Just being aware makes it easier to understand why things are done the way they are. This is one of the reasons I am an economics minor. I will have some knowledge of the business and financial decisions that are made where ever I end up working. Any major, not just communications, could probably benefit from taking a couple courses that would teach them these beneficial skills and tools needed in todays world.

  5. Kristen Cole Says:

    I agree that once we graduate from college, we should have a since of business. No matter where we end up, or what we do when we “go out into the real world”, any job has a business side to it. By going out knowing only one side or part of whichever job we choose, it will be very difficult to move forward, more so then it would be if we understood all sides. Our world is based on our economy and our economy is based on business. In order to survive on our own, we must have some since of business no matter what we do.

  6. Amanda Adams Says:

    How could I not agree with you? You make a very valid point. Maybe some business classes should be added to the Communications Core Classes. Dean McKee always mentions that as PR majors we should take accounting classes. My arguement is that it’s hard to find time to fit classes like that into our schedule. It would help if our advisors would mention which particular business classes or math classes would fullfill our gen-ed requirements while also aiding in our communications major. If I had known before now that it would have helped to take accounting I would have never taken nature of mathmatics.

    On the other hand, since I am a senior I have started trying to figure out what I want to do after graduation. As I look at different job opportunites I have come to the conclusion that the communications department does a great job of not just focusing on editing and writing but also educating us on how to think outside the box while being creative and analytical as well as how to use a number of different computer programs and electronical equipment. The professors in the communications department have also taught us where to look for answers to questions we might have once in the “real world.” I think that Berry students in the communication department are well prepared for life after college. We are a step ahead of other schools and if we choose to run our own business we would know enough to know where to start.

  7. Kristin Hunter Says:

    I also agree that it is important to learn about the business aspect that is part of every profession. In order to properly be prepared for every circumstance, everyone, (including communication majors), should understand basic business models and economic principles. Such an education would promote sound financial decisions- a must in every profession and career. People should not just depend on bankers and businessman for sound business advice. They should have some reserve of knowledge about business themselves.

  8. Amber Says:

    It is so true that students need to cover a lot of basics if they want to make it out there. It seems that we need to know so much outside of our specific realm of study. I am not sure what I will be doing when I graduate, which is a scary thought considering it is coming so soon. I do think, as Amanda said, that as students in the Communications Department that we have been given a lot of information that will carry us well into our career life. Also, as Amanda said I feel like I would have benefitted from my advisor telling me early on that I should take classes in other departments. It is good for all of us to be well rounded students, which is what the general education part of our schooling helps us to do.

  9. Noel Southerland Says:

    As I look back on my almost four years at Berry one thing I regret not doing is enrolling in a marketing class. I think part of attending a liberal arts college is the opportunity to learn a variety of different disciplines. However, we enroll in the different subjects that teach these different disciplines typically during our freshmen and sophomore year because we want to complete our gen-ed requirements and begin the long process of completing our majors courses. So, now as I step back and try to remember all that I’ve retained as you can guess it’s all related to communication. This is because communication classes have been the only classes I’ve taken my junior and senior year. I wish I would have known that taking a business class would have probably helped. I wouldn’t say I’m not prepared, but I am saying that I feel I could be MORE prepared if I had incorporated courses into my schedule that would provide the fundamentals to any business.

  10. andy Says:

    I feel that I yelled down a well and the echo just came up. Funny we spoke of this earlier together. About to leave the bubble with my head, heart and hands education and the business side of any entrepeneurship is pretty foreign to me. Recent graduate, Ashley Williamson of ATLRockPhotography strongly suggested to me to take some business classes if I could. Oh gosh, so did 10 other people. With each semester nipping away at my monopoly money account, I don’t see it forseeable to stay longer for the business side. That can be gleaned from the real world experience.
    When a person asks me what I am going to do after school I merely reply: Be successful. Who knows what railroad that takes me to, maybe I’ll pass go and collect $200. Or maybe I’ll get stuck in jail and wait until I roll doubles to get out.

  11. Elizabeth C Says:

    Thinking about what to do after graduation is incredibly daunting. As a junior I have begun to feel pressured to find not only an internship but to find an externship, and to become more involved with on-campus media. It is all ridiculously overwhelming on top of classes, but blatantly important when considering the masses of other talented folks graduating alongside me who will ultimately become my “competition”. There has to be that special something that makes me stand out.
    I enjoyed looking at Rob Curley’s blog to begin to uncover how he has made himself accessible to employers and made himself personable to readers (consumers of his blog). He discusses his love of penguins and also relays his enthusiasm for online media. The growing use of the internet for news is why further education for college students concerning online resources is crucial. Curley is innovative and inspired, two traits that have become requirements for success in the fast-paced world of journalism.

  12. Bobby Pope Says:

    Like most people I’m sure, I see graduation as the terminal point in all that is safe and stable in my life. I do not doubt the education I have recieved is sufficient but at times when I look at the backgrounds and qualifications of others in my field I can’t help but stand in amazement at thier level of readiness to enter the workforce. I think preparing students for ever changing markets and realities of the work place is extremely important, as well as redesigning courses that will have practical uses in the real world.


  13. […] Jeff gave three cheers to the idea by pointing out what a “meritocracy” or “technocracy” the jobforce and marketplace have become. Loyalty to a company for its own sake is no longer a benefit; in fact, it can be professional suicide. So what skill sets and knowledge bases do you need to succeed out there? […]

  14. Jess McNeil Says:

    In this ongoing discussion, it seems we all agree that having a grasp on the business realm would be totally beneficial. As a foreign language major, I’m gonna throw in another wrench. I feel it absolutely necessary for anyone, no matter the major, to take classes in a foreign language. Thankfully, that is required for most of the majors here at Berry. There’s nothing more important than having a grasp on different cultures and how they interact with other nations. This way, one could understand the best way to do business with their cultures. They know enough about the culture to be able to cater to their needs the best and most efficient way possible. I know I’m totally stretching this deal, seeing as I’m biased and all, but still. Does anyone else see my point in this?

  15. Anslee Says:

    Jess, I completely see your point. I’m a Spanish major and I feel that knowing a second language even furthers my communications skills and it has enabled me in a Spanish-speaking country to ask permission to shoot photos, talk about my major, etc., and I’m able to share my passion for what I do as well as educate others a little. It makes that time with them even better because you have been able to take a piece of their lives to add it to your own while they can do the same with you because you can actually talk to them. It makes the whole transaction, if you will, a lot more at ease instead of being a mute photojournalist, etc., who comes to get what he/she wants and then goes on his/her merry way. I know I’m going on a tangent, but with any major, especially in Communications, some knowledge in a foreign language (or more than one) can take what you do even further.

    Also, in response to many other comments, I took a marketing course this summer at GSU and it was really interesting to learn about target audiences, the inner-workings of marketing, and all of that. As Communications majors, our #1 priority in many respects is to find our audience. I really felt that the marketing class gave me a better understanding of how the audience actually works in order to suit them with my product, be it photography, web design, or graphic design. I talked to Dr. Frank about making it part of the curriculum, if not as a separate class, but to incorporation the same ideas into the classes we already have. I really hope this happens for future Comm. students.


Leave a comment